Local Government

Lytton is a municipality within electoral area I in the Thompson-Nicola Regional District, in the Fraser-Nicola Provincial riding and the Mission-Matsqui-Fraser Canyon Federal riding. It was founded in 1858/9, incorporated in 1945 and is governed by a Village Council consisting of a Mayor and four Council members who are elected every 4 years. The last election was held in November of 2018.

The Council is responsible for creating policies about public works, emergency services, economic development, health & safety as well as development and planning that the Village staff then put into action.

Monthly Council meetings are held at the Village Office every 2nd and 4th Wednesday at 7:00 pm and are open to the public with the exception of any in-camera sections.